Homemade Doggie Treats

Today was one of those days where I woke up and told myself I would study ALL day (well at least all morning.) After a good breakfast I sat down in front of my computer and an hour later caught myself still browsing Pinterest instead of studying for my big exam. When I looked over at my dog (who is 1-year-old today! Happy Birthday Bode!) I decided my time would be better spent trying to make home-made dog biscuits.
This recipe could not have been easier!
Ingredients:
2 cups Flour
2/3 cup Corn Meal
1/2 cup Sunflower seeds
1/2 cup Low fat milk
2 Eggs
1/2 cup Chicken Broth
1 cup Carrot pulp (optional…I only added this because I had left over pulp from my juicer)
Recipe:
Start out by pre-heating your oven to 350 degrees.
In a mixing bowl stir together all the dry ingredients (flour, corn meal, sunflower seeds).
In a separate bowl combine the remaining ingredients and mix well. Add this mixture to the dry ingredients. The dough will be sticky so let it sit for 10-20 minutes while you clean up.
Transfer the dough to a well floured surface and using a rolling-pin flatten the dough to roughly 1/4″ thickness.
Bode was by my side the entire time as if he knew these were going to be for him!

Use a cookie cutter to shape your biscuits and place them on a greased baking sheet.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or unit the dog treats are golden brown and hard. Let them cool and then show your four-legged friend how much you love them!

This recipe ended up making more treats than I expected so I wrapped some together in sets of 3 and made little gifts for all of our doggie friends. Aren’t they adorable?!
 And of course they were a major hit with Bode!
Happy Birthday Little Guy!
One thought on “Homemade Doggie Treats

Leave a Reply

